Covid-19: Safe stay
  Covid-19: Safe stay
Premium access  |  Owners access  |  |  +34 955 60 49 53         
foto-panormica-Retiro I
apartment-Retiro I-photo0
apartment-Retiro I-photo1 apartment-Retiro I-photo2 apartment-Retiro I-photo3 apartment-Retiro I-photo4 apartment-Retiro I-photo5 apartment-Retiro I-photo6 apartment-Retiro I-photo7 apartment-Retiro I-photo8 apartment-Retiro I-photo9
Associated with

HOME flecha-breadcrumb MADRID flecha-breadcrumb RETIRO I

Retiro I Apartment

1 Bedroom
1 Bathroom
60 m2
Max: 4 Guests
4 floor
Air conditioning
Sofa Bed


It is a superb apartment which is situated in Calle Academia, in the most exclusive neighborhood of Madrid: Los Jerónimos. The apartment has an unbeatable location; it is just a few meters from the Parque del Retiro and the Museo del Prado, Museo Thysenn or the Cortes Generales (General Courts). Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, etc. are also just a few minutes walking from it. The street is very quiet during the day as well as during the night although the best shops of the city are really close to it (Calle Serrano) and the bars and restaurants are just a few meters passing through the the Paseo del Prado. Doubtlessly, its location is a remarkable privilege. Show more



Living room
> Plasma TV
> Sofa bed
Bedroom 1
> Double bed
> Bed linens and towels
> Wardrobe
> Washing machine
> Coffee Maker
> Vitroceramic hob
> Fridge
> Toaster
> Microwave
> Juicer
> Flat iron and ironing board
> Cleaning products
Bathroom 1
> Shower
> W.C






  • Pilar Elvira

    DEC 2019

    La ubicación excelente, muy bien decorado.
    El colchón muy duro y el sofá cama también. Una pena que solo tenga un baño, para 4 personas se queda corto.

    Genteel-Home: Estimada Pilar, gracias por su comentario. Sentimos que tanto el sofá cama como el colchón de la cama no hayan sido confortables para usted. Ambos son muy nuevos, por lo que entendemos que debido a ello el grado de dureza no sea del agrado de todos nuestros huéspedes ya que es un tema muy subjetivo. Ciertamente, como está indicado, el apartamento cuenta con sólo un baño, por lo que aunque su capacidad máxima sea hasta 4 personas, lo hace más ideal para parejas o familias con niños. Esperamos que de todos modos hayan disfrutado de su estancia en Madrid. Saludos.
    Fátima Roca - Responsable Dpto. de Calidad

  • Ánonimo

    DEC 2019

    La ubicación. Cama cómoda.
    La calefacción no funcionaba y nos dejaron dos radiadores eléctricos pequeños e insuficientes. Se escuchaba un ruido del edificio de calefacción o gas o aire acondicionado o vaya usted a saber, intermitente y muy intenso que despertaba por las noches. No volveremos.

    Genteel-Home: Buenas tardes, gracias por sus comentarios. Lamentamos que los radiadores que les llevamos no fuesen suficientes para calentar el apartamento y decirle que la calefacción ya funciona perfectamente. Lamentamos que las obras del edificio le hayan molestado y comentarle que ya han terminado. Esperamos que disfrutase de su estancia en madrid. Un saludo

  • Miguel Angel

    DEC 2019

    Ubicación excelente. Instalaciones y decoración moderna y funcional, cálida y confortable.

  • Silvia

    DEC 2019

    Muy buena ubicación. Ideal para dos personas y no para 4. El sofá cama no es nada cómodo para dormir. No teníamos juego de sábanas para el sofá! El baño está dentro de la habitación y claro eso es un inconveniente para los que duermen en el sofá. Lo dicho es un apartamento cómodo para dos personas.

    Genteel-Home: Estimada Sílvia, gracias por sus comentarios. Lamentamos que el sofá cama no le haya parecido cómodo y que nuestro personal de Check in no le indicase que las sábanas del sofá cama están dobladas en el armario. Ojalá nos hubiese llamado para poder explicárselo.Por otro lado nos alegra saber que la ubicación y el apartamento le han gustado y esperamos que hayan disfrutado de su estancia. Un saludo

  • Alberto

    DEC 2019

    Very comfortable and well equipped. Perfect even for 4 people staying. Very good location. Close enough to public transport.
    Minor issues, Door lock was not working well and it was tricky when trying to get in.

  • Tiago

    DEC 2019

    Palazzo in lavori, corridoio sporco

    Genteel-Home: Dear Tiago, thank you for tour review. We are sorry about the building’s s hall cleaning but the building works are beyond our control. Happily they are about to finish. We hope that apart from the building work, you have been comfortable in the apartment and enjoyed your stay in Madrid. Regards

  • Fco Javier

    NOV 2019

    Genial descanso. Excelente apartamento. Ubicación perfecta

  • Mercedes

    NOV 2019

    agradable y comoda

  • David Perez

    NOV 2019

    Excelente. Ubicación,estado del apartamento,moderno,limpieza,...
    El check out podría ser un poco más tarde....pero solo por poner algo...

  • Muzie Bahary

    NOV 2019

    good location, very clean apartment, fairly quit for its central location, nice little balcony for morning coffee, great bed in bedroom and reasonable bed opens in living room. host was very responsive.
    Too small for 4 people, access to single bathroom through the bedroom , espresso machine but no espresso capsules, not the end of the world but would be nice.

  • Marc and Joanne

    NOV 2019

    Excellent property, , well appointed one bedroom apartment, just two short blocks from Prado Museum and Retiro Park. Convenient to all cultural attraction and Retiro Park.
    In apartment nearby, a dog never stopped chirping and barking. Suggest that property management be contacted

  • Laurent

    NOV 2019

    Immeuble calme et bien situé, particulièrement pour la visites des musées.
    Commerces un peu éloignés.

  • Cristina

    NOV 2019

    El piso en general, todo perfecto.

  • Silvia

    NOV 2019

    Muy buena y muy tranquila estancia.
    Las almohadas y el colchon un poco duro.

  • cesare colombo

    NOV 2019

    Ottima posizione, appartamento pulito.

  • Anastasia

    NOV 2019

    Cozy apartment, very well equipped, in the heart of Madrid (just between the Prado Museum and The Retiro Park - incredible place), very clean. The building is equipped with an elevator (this is quite a rare option in the center of Madrid). It´s perfect. We loved it there.

  • maria luisa

    JUL 2019

    Location is excellent
    In the unit next door, there were making some fixings and all the dust came to the unit we were using. No matter how many times you clean, there was dust all over the unit

    Genteel-Home: Dear Maria Luisa, thank you for your comment. We are sorry that in another apartment of the building some neighbor was making some fixings that caused dust. This has been something that punctual and unfortunately is beyond of our control. We hope that despite this you have enjoyed your stay and we are glad that the location has been to your liking. Regards

  • Pawel

    MAR 2019

    Great location, minutes away from Prado and seconds away from beautiful Retiro park which is great if you have kids (there are playgrounds there). Nice design


    MAR 2019

    Genial. Facilidad en recoges las llaves. Situación ideal para ir a cualquier sitio andando. Edificio tranquilo y zona tranquila. VOLVEREMOS.

  • Guillermo

    MAR 2019


  • Roland

    JAN 2019

    Location close to museums.
    Had to wait approx.1 hr for the cleaning to be finished. Apartment was very noisy at noght. Needs earplugs. Not all the time warm water in the morning. Company advertises (in pictures and words) a great apartment and redirects you to another one (with different standards) after booking/resp. arrival.

    Genteel-Home: Dear Roland, thank you for your comment. As we proved to after your claim, your statements are completely false. You indicated when you made your reservation that you would arrive between 4pm and 5pm, being check in time after 3pm, when the apartment was already clean and ready for you to access. We was received you one hour later (16h) because it was at the time you told us you wanted to be received. On the other hand, in the Genteel Home Retiro property there are 3 different apartments, and you booked a 1 bedroom apartment (as clearly is indicated in your booking confirmation), and it was exactly where you stayed. We, after your reservation, we send you an email with information about the procedure of check in and contact phone, and a link where you can see photos and charasteristics of the apartment you have reserved to avoid confusion regarding the other apartments that are in this property.

  • Anónimo

    JAN 2019

    Situación excelente.
    Calentador poca capacidad. Sofá cama incómodo.

  • Nino

    DEC 2018

    Amazing location next to the park with all attractions in close even walking proximity and nice reasonable size place in good condition. Host was very friendly and helpful always quick response. Had everything we need and no major complaints.

  • Ingrid

    DEC 2018

    Quiet park location, good stay! great for summer
    The location was just was we were looking for right across the street from the park! Lovely! Wifi was great, heating system kept us nice and warm, sofa bed good size ok view, comfy double bed. We did not use the TV or any other extra amenities we were mostly out and about but enjoyed our stay a lot. Kitchen stove worked great. Loved that we could walk a few steps to the Prado Museum. Perfect distance away from highly tourist area where construction was taken place and had Loud tractors and closed streets. This was a Quiet area, lovely we will come back in the summer time.
    Main issue was hot water, it ran out! We had to wait to take showers my husband had to finish his shower with Freezing cold water and was extremely displeased. Maybe this is ok for summer but we got days of rain and 6 degrees Celsius.. not fun to have hot water run out on you in the middle of putting soap on. Cleanliness could improve, corners had some dust also underneath the bed and sofa. (I have an allergic child so I’ve become vigilant and check these kind of things) also coffee cups were stained and needed replacement. Other than that OK.

  • Olle

    NOV 2018

    Inte värd sitt dyra pris
    Bra läge vid Retiro-parken och El Prado-museet. Om man ska besöka konstmuseerna är det ett fantastiskt bra läge. Finns cafeer att fika på, 10 minuter till fina restauranger och butiker i Salamanca. Bra och personligt mottagande av personalen, som ordnade babysäng åt oss.
    Lägenhet som hyrs ut av lägenhetsförmedlare. reception osv finns inte i huset utan per telefon (alltid tillgängliga dock!). Det saknades riktig matplats, istället åt vi vid en bardisk i pentryt på höga barstolar (det fanns bara tre stycken, vi hittade en fjärde efter två dagar). Balkongen var ett 40 cm smalt stuvutrymme som inte gick att sitta på. Grannen hade en hund som skällde konstant från 21 till 00. Inte värd sitt höga pris.

    Genteel-Home: Dear Olle, thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that you liked the location of the apartment close to the Parque del Retiro, and that our staff would be of help and be available quickly to your needs. We are sorry that you did not find the kitchen bench until several days after your arrival, if you asked us we would have indicated you immediately where it is or have brought you another. Also, the apartment that you had booked is a 1 bedroom apartment where there is a balcony as is indicated, but no terrace where you can sit. The prices of our apartments vary depending on the season, demand, availability in the city, etc., so it is normal that prices are higher than usual in cases like yours where you have stayed in the international holiday weekend when the city is full. We are very sorry that the neighbor´s dog has bothered you, luckily it is not usual and our customers have not complained about it before. Regards

  • FcoMoT

    OCT 2018

    Muy bien. Ubicado en Jeronimos que esta muy cerca de todo pero super tranquilo.
    El parking no es tan cerca y a veces está no disponible.

  • María

    OCT 2018

    Limpio y cama cómoda. Staff muy amable.
    La cama era un poco pequeña y encajada. El wifi no funcionaba. Un poco caro para 1 noche.

  • Anónimo

    AUG 2018

    Buena ubicación.
    El aire acondicionado hacia mucho ruido, el secador estaba roto y falta horno en la cocina.

    Genteel-Home: Estimado cliente, gracias por su comentario. Nos alegra saber que la ubicación del apartamento fue la adecuada para su estancia en Madrid. Informaremos a nuestros compañeros del departamento de incidencias para revisarlo y solucionarlo a la mayor brevedad. Lamentamos que no nos haya informado de ello durante su estancia ya que podríamos haber buscando una solución de inmediato. Respecto al horno, el equipamiento con el que cuenta cada apartamento viene indicado en la web de manera clara y visible. Sentimos las molestias que esto le hubiera podido causar. Saludos

  • alocids

    AUG 2018

    Nous avons reçu les clés de l´appartement à l´heure convenue avec le louer (très disponible). Nous avons trouvé l´emplacement près du Retiro idéal pour visiter Madrid.

  • Rosanna

    AUG 2018

    Posizione centralissima

  • Julie

    JUL 2018

    The apartment was not like the internet pictures - it was in fact much smaller , older, and dirtier. We were disappointed at lack of bedding and noise and lack of hot water for showers.

    Genteel-Home: Dear Julie, the dimensions of each apartment are clearly reflected in the website, and the photo report was made just some months ago, so they faithfully show how the apartments are, which is new and recently renovated. Cleaning is an aspect that we take care of a lot and we have never had any other customer complaint about it before. Also, we leave a set of sheets and towels per person for their stay. If you had needed more, you could have communicated it to us so that we would have facilitated it, but you never communicated anything to us about it. Regards

  • Carina da Silva

    JUN 2018

    A localização do apartamento é muito boa. Fica perto de todos os pontos importantes da cidade, facilmente alcançáveis a pé. O apartamento tem as comodidades necessárias para passar uns dias. Faltaram apenas almofadas confortáveis para o sofá-cama.
    O maior problema é não ter garagem e o estacionamento na rua ser ridiculamente caro (cerca de 4€ por 2horas das 9h às 21h). Os parques subterrâneos compensam mais. Para quem não levar carro, o bus é a nenhum opção, já que o metro é muito sujo...

  • Adriana

    DEC 2017

    En general muy cómodo y excelente ubicación, el retiro y el Museo del Prado al lado.
    Tanto el sofá y la cama bastante confortable.
    Bien equipado, con todo detalle.
    Recomendable 100 %

  • Shosh

    OCT 2017

    Apartment light and airy, we spent a week there,
    Enjoying the great location close to Retiro Park and five minutes walk to prado. 10 minutes walk to the elegant Salamanca and 15 minutes to the train station.

  • Shel Haber

    OCT 2017

    Lovely and comfortable apartment next to Retiro Park

  • Dennis Steh & Patricia Olive

    APR 2017

    Just loved this apartment in the Retiro neighborhood! Quiet, comfortable and secure - it even comes with a doorman. Well furnished and super clean. Equipped with everything we needed for a short stay. The Genteel staff is friendly and helpful. A strong recommendation.
    Also liked the Academia Cafeteria across the street for a coffee and breakfast in the morning.

  • Jean-Marc

    JAN 2017

    Appartement très agréable, très clair, bien agencé et idéalement situé à quelques pas du Musée du Prado, du Musée Thyssen-Bornemisza et du Parc du Retiro.

    Cependant, nous estimons que l´isolation phonique par rapport à la circulation du boulevard Alfonso XII tout proche est insuffisante.

  • Isabel

    JAN 2017

    El apartamento tiene una ubicacion excepcional. Puedes ir a todos los lugares de interes andando. Es acogedor y correcto para 4 personas. La zona es tranquila a pesar de estar en pleno centro. Sin duda nos alojaremos e este apartamento en nuestra próxima visita.

  • zahir

    DEC 2016

    Belle appartement

  • Carlos Quesada

    NOV 2016

    Excelente atención, ubicación y condiciones en general, recomendado ampliamente.

  • Nick Sinadinos

    OCT 2016

    Exceptional location between Prado and El Retiro park. Sophisticated and quiet escape from the bustling energy of Madrid. Short walk to Barrio de Las Letras and even La Latina. Apartment has very nice furnishings, separate bedroom, squeaky clean bath, generous closet. Management seems very determined to make sure guests are comfortable.

  • gabriela

    OCT 2016

    Hermosos apartamento en excelente ubicación. Calle muy tranquila y cerca de todo.
    Muy bien equipado y todo en buenas condiciones.
    Con mucha luz natural y una pequeña terraza desde donde se ve el parque del Retiro. El check in y check out fue muy sencillo y fueron muy amables. Lo recomendamos sinceramente!!

  • Baldev Bedi

    AUG 2016

    Quality apartment in prime central location. Very adequately and tastefully furnished. Very secure. Great service and very courteous and professional staff.

  • Jacques Jansen

    JUL 2016

    Excellent flat. Good location, clean, spacious with a nice big bathroom. Excellent value for money.

  • Jorge Tamayo

    JUN 2016

    Un apartamento muy cómodo y muy bien presentado. Excelente localización.

  • marna fullerton

    MAY 2016

    The apt was perfect for my needs! It was clean, the kitchen was a bit challenging, if one wanted to do breakfast or lunch---needed to borrow strainer and utensils from my daughter´s apt--to wash fruit and cook an egg etc. Location excellent, building a bit puzzling---is it for business and offices? I never saw other residents. Quiet neighborhood was great.

    Genteel-Home: Dear Marna, First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review to us as this is soemthing really helpful for the company. Regarding the kitchen items, there might be a confusion as it´s fully equipped; in fact, there´s a small cupboard with lots of utensils to give a maximum use to the kitchen. About the building, isn´t for business or offices but for apartment residents but it´s a high standard construction with respectful neighbours, effectively really calm. I´m glad you enjoy your stay and will be happy to accommodate at any other time you decide to visit our country!

  • Ana E Pérez

    MAY 2016

    Excelente ubicación, uno de los mejores sectores de Madrid. Muy limpio y cómodo. Volveríamos a ocuparlo. Podrían mejorar la calidad de las toallas, secadora de pelo y el plan de TV cable ya que este ultimo es muy básico. De igual manera hace falta un TV en la habitación, que dejen bolsas para la basura y que haya platos mas grandes.

    Genteel-Home: Buenas tardes Ana, Gracias por su comentario, este tipo de comunicación es muy provechoso para la mejora de la empresa. Nunca habíamos recibido queja alguna de la calidad de las toallas y secador de pelo pero por supuesto tomaremos nota de su sugerencias que de nuevo le agradecemos. Será un placer tenerla de nuevo como huésped en cualquier otra ocasión.

  • Mark and Linda Olson

    APR 2016

    We really enjoyed the apartment and it´s location. No negatives, all positive.

  • bradley westall

    MAR 2016

    The apartment is excellent. The location could not be better. The street is very quiet, and we were a close walk to so many excellent attractions. The staff was great, very friendly and supportive.

  • Fonzy

    FEB 2016

    Fantastico apartamento situado en la zona con mas monumentos emblematicos por metro cuadrado de España. Ideal para parejas, pequeña familia o viaje de negocios

  • Rosemary

    DEC 2015

    Apartamento perfecto para conocer Madrid, justo detrás del museo del Prado y cerca de Atocha.tiene todo lo que necesitas.

  • Nora

    NOV 2015

    Excelente ubicación, cómodo y limpio.

  • elena bachurina

    JUN 2015

    Fantastic, new, clean, central apartment.
    Owner and the company are really kind.

    I´ll be back next time.


  • Henri

    MAY 2015

    Je recommande vivement cet appartement, nous avons visiter tous les monuments à pied sans problème. L´appartement en soi est impeccable, propre, trés bien sonorisé et lumineux.
    Nous avons vraiment profiter de l´appartement et si nous revenons à Madrid nous aimerions relouer cet appartement.

  • Marie

    MAY 2015

    Mon mari et moi avons passé un excellent séjour dans cet appartement. La décoration est tout simplement magnifique et de bon goût. C´est un appartement de qualité et totalement propre qui permet de profiter amplement des vacances en amoureux, nous avons visité tous les musées et autre monuments à pied et le parc Retiro aussi. C´est un appartement que je recommanderai fortement à mes amis ou famille puisqu´il se trouve aussi à côté de la gare de train Atocha.

Select dates


   Best rate guaranteed

   Free Wi-Fi

   Covid-19 health safety protocol

   Flexible cancellation policy


Associated with
Looking for long-term stay?

Check here our special rates for


We are interested in your opinion

We only accept comments from real guests who have stayed in this apartment, so you must indicate the e-mail with which you made the reservation

Write a comment